Master Documentary Filmmaking: Essential Tips and Common Blunders for First-timers.

allan karl
9 min readJul 20, 2023

Documentary filmmaking is an extraordinary medium that allows us to share stories, shed light on important issues, and capture the essence of real-life experiences. I’ve been a documentarian for as long as I can remember. From a young age, I carried a cassette recorder to family events, interviewing cousins, uncles, grandparents, and anyone willing to share their tales. As I journeyed through over 80 countries with my cameras, I captured experiences that most people might never encounter on their own, telling the…

--

--

allan karl

Insatiable passion for travel, culture, people, & food. Stay curious…Bestselling Author…Keynote Speaker…Photographer… Around The World On Motorcycle @WorldRider