13 Rules To Live By From A Life On The Road

allan karl
13 min readOct 12, 2020

Do I have a guiding list of principles or rules that I live by?

The Caucus Mountains, Azerbaijan.

As a world travel adventurer, professional inspirational speaker, and author, people often ask me for advice. Some want travel tips, others ask about technology and photography gear, others are looking for life-lessons learned from the road. Many are curious about how I can even make a living doing what I do.

I was sharing breakfast with Sandy many months ago, a fellow traveler I met several years ago in Greece. She posed the question, “Do you have a list of guiding principles or rules you live by?” She presented the question as a challenge for each of us: without overthinking, jot down thirteen things we believe are essential for a purposeful, mindful, happy, and healthy life. I pulled out a couple notepads and pens, and while I sipped my drip coffee, and she sipped her double macchiato, we tackled the challenge and compared notes.

Since then, I’ve shuffled my list of “13 Rules To Live By From A Life On The Road” around my desk with hardly a glance. Yesterday, after eight months, I paused and read the coffee-stained paper with my spontaneous scribbling. I pondered each of my rules and asked if, since then, I have followed them — especially in the crazy and challenging times of the coronavirus. I checked off twelve, and there remains an opportunity to…

--

--

allan karl

Insatiable passion for travel, culture, people, & food. Stay curious…Bestselling Author…Keynote Speaker…Photographer… Around The World On Motorcycle @WorldRider